Jeet Kune Do or decent alternative martial art in Chelsea are of London?

Discussion in 'Jeet Kune Do' started by benuds, Apr 7, 2011.

1. benuds

benuds New Member

Mods feel free to replicate or move if necessary

I've been a student in Jun Fan jeet Kune do for 3 years in Nottingham under Jimi Heys, I've recently moved to London and want to continue my training in Martial arts. I would ideally like to find a good JKD gym that isnt too ridiculously expensive, but from my research that seems impossible so would be happy with a decent kickboxing,Muay Thai or MMA club near my place of work (kings road chelsea) just so i can keep fit and 'vent' so to speak....can anyone recommend anything?

Thanks for reading

2. Master Betty

Master Betty Banned Banned

Personally, I'd stay away from JKD but choose whatever you find fun. If you want to know any thai boxing gyms just PM and I can send you a list of those nearby.

3. Hannibal

Hannibal Cry HAVOC and let slip the Dogs of War!!! Supporter

Personally i would choose JKD - HA!

However, there is good and there is bad - if you are in London you could do a lot worse than;

http://bobbreen.com/

4. Master Betty

You mean THIS shower....

[ame="http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=XRjAbo8bKBs&feature=channel_video_title"]YouTube - Paul & Carl Sparring[/ame]

Come on. IF that's how they spar... stay far away.

5. Hannibal

That's an energy drill not sparring

although in fairness they refer to it as sparring - it is a misnomer

6. Master Betty

exactly - the man himself calls it sparring.

and it is very poor no matter WHAT it is.

7. Hannibal

It was not exactly the best video you chose either! Bob wasn't even in it!

8. Master Betty

Not my fault. speaks wonders if THATS the "sparring" video he chooses to present.

9. Smitfire

Smitfire Cactus Schlong

I quite liked it. Somewhere between shadow boxing and actual sparring.
    Not the be-all and end-all but a useful exercise I think.

10. Hannibal